Update 23rd April 2010

Made it!  Am sitting in the very same seat that I sat in when I posted the update when I was on my way to Kenya in January.  Not sure what it is about me going to Kenya and the weather as it was snow that almost scuppered my plans last time, this time volcanic ash!

Fair to say its been a bit of a rollercoaster week with trying to work out whether the trip was on or not, trying to tie in with Rocky from America and looking at contingency plans.  Train, 12 hours on a bus (yuck several sick bags would have been needed for that) and hitch hiking were all investigated.

However, with things looking better by Wednesday night I decided to stick with flying.  The plan had been to fly BMI to Heathrow with some colleagues who were travelling down for a meeting, with the added purpose of carrying a case of knickers for me.  With all the disruption and uncertainty the meeting was cancelled.  I managed to get 1355 pairs of pants into 2 suitcases, which is fine for flying Virgin Atlantic to Nairobi, but you’re only allowed 1 case (20kg) flying BMI to Heathrow so was looking at excess baggage charges of over £200 😦

[imagine a drum roll] Step forward my 2 new heroes – Tracey Ashworth-Davies and David Robinson.  David called me yesterday just after 3pm to tell me he’d managed to get my excess baggage charges waived.  This completely confused me as couldn’t understand how he knew about it, but David and Tracey had  been scheming behind my back.  Tracey was one of the pants mules going to the meeting in London and felt bad that the meeting had been cancelled.  Unknown to me she had spoken to David and written to BMI a pleading email asking for the charges to be waived but they said no.  Did they give up?  Nope – David then drove out to Edinburgh airport and somehow managed to get them to agree to it.  How amazing are they, and I want FULL details of how he managed it when I get back.

As it looked really bleak at the beginning of the week as to whether the trip would be on or not, we only tentatively organised transport for going to the IDP camps, so have no firm plan in place.  If we can’t get to the camps, then I’ll be going to an orphanage and schools in and around Kahawa West, or it might be a mix of both.  This time tomorrow I’ll be on “Kenyan” time so who knows.

But what we do know is that I won’t be worrying about excess baggage costs on the way home as I’ll be 1355 pairs of knickers lighter 🙂

8 Responses to “Update 23rd April 2010”

  1. tracey Says:

    Maria! I’m officially a superhero down to your blog. I’m going to start wearing my thong over my suit. davis was so thrilled he could help and was described by my mum as “a fabulous man”. What more could he want in terms of adulation? Hope he doesn’t start to wear his rather larger undies over his corduroys….Hope things are going well. I think you are totally marvellous!!!! My parents saw the article in another paper so your fan club is growing. Take care and stay safe. Tracey ps if you see a little black baby girl needing a home let me know!!

    • smallsforall Says:

      Tracey, you are a nutter but shows I keep good company! Just sitting at Heathrow waiting on flight back to Edinburgh so thanks for making me laugh. If only I’d known about the baby as was in a place where they had abandoned babies, next time maybe although you might want to check with hubby and the girls – thought they were looking for a puppy!

  2. Margaret Ritchie Says:

    I read the article in the Dailly Record and found it quite distressing that in this day and age such atrocities happen. Thank God for people like you. I scanned the article and sent it round all the ladies in the office and the response has been amazing.
    Keep up the good work.

  3. Sadie Ayton Says:

    I read your story in the Readers Digest and if you have room for some bras I have quite a few to spare which are surplus to our needs, brand new never been worn in all sizes.

  4. willma McIntyre Says:

    Hi Maria,

    Much admire what you are doing ad I have many friends and aquaintances willing to help with knickers. Are we too late?

    The need had never occurred to us. Good luck with all your efforts. Let me know how to go about sending stuff to you.

    Willma McIntyre.

  5. Caroline Says:

    i give up, where can you send the underwear? what exactly are you looking for – if you’re even still collecting? That is the only problem with this great idea: it’s too hard to find out how to help/it’s not clear enough. (perhaps you need to start your own website.)

  6. Joy Ward Says:

    Any chance you could have a A4 poster or A5 flyer available to print out on the website. Preferably with space to write in a contact number and collection point. it would be really useful to put up in workplaces/churches etc.

    • smallsforall Says:

      Hi Joy, thanks for getting in touch. Your comments are very timely as we have just prepared a promotional poster for people wanting to organise collections. The plan was to put on our new website, hoping to get this on there in the next couple of days – if not I will email you it.
      If you get a chance have a look at our website, it is work in progress and we hope to get a lot more information on very soon.
      http://www.smallsforall.org
      thanks again for getting in touch.
      Maria

Leave a Reply

